Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the History subject guides.
The guides :
- Contain links to a wide range of eResources, including websites, articles, videos or images, that are relevant to History (Year 7 -12).
- Provide access to topic-related library resources at the Rua Resource Centre, both in print or online.
If you need more featured resources or further help with using the guides, please get in touch with us!
Library eResources help to find subject-related literature such as journals, book chapters, magazine and newspaper articles, facts, statistics, background information. These eResources are more likely to be reliable than material found on the Internet, such as Google. Following eResources are selected to assist your search based on the information needs on this particular subject.
Academic OneFile Millions of articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources across a wide range of academic disciplines.Discover peer-reviewed articles to inspire research and validate your findings with Academic OneFile’s extensive collection of academic journals.
Britannica Online School Britannica Online School Edition gives access to four reference encyclopedias for classroom topics in age-appropriate language.
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. Prepares researchers for social science, history, and liberal arts coursework.
Global Issues Global Issues ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots, while also summarizing background information, historical context, and contemporary stances.
Sources include full-text international magazines, academic journals, primary sources, statistics, (graphs, tables, charts) and websites, including government sites and organizations.
High School High School Resource offers current and authoritative content to facilitate your needs of resources for your assignments.
Issues & Current Affairs - ECHO ECHO offers extensive information content drawn from newspapers and the Internet. It selectively indexes three major Australian newspapers and provides a searchable index on-line.
World History Well-rounded coverage of current thinking and scholarly work.
History of the World : Every year
Rua Resource Centre Catalogue
Click into the 'Search' box to begin your search. See the drop down list for more options (title, author, series etc.).
Books from RRC
Battles that changed history by Subjects: Battles - History
Notes:Sir Tony Robinson wrote the foreword for this book
Call Number: 904.7 ROB
Publication Date: 2018
100 Decisive Battles by From the ancient Egyptian battle at Megiddo in 1469 BC to the recent military actions in Iraq, great battles have had an enormous impact on the shaping of history. Now, in this fully illustrated book, one hundred of the world's most important military confrontations are described in detail.100 Decisive Battles gives us the facts about the battle and also explains where it fits in to the scope of world history.In each entry we are given the name and date of the battle, the commanders, the size of the opposing forces, and casualties. An account of the battle plan and the military action are strategically discussed, and each description closes with a valuable consideration of how history was affected bythe outcome of the conflict. Among the battles presented are the Battle of Thymbra (546 BC), the Battle of Chalons (451 AD), the Battle of Cajamarca (1532), the Battle of Dien Bien Phu (1954), and the Tet Offensive (1968). Accompanying maps and sidebars help further orient us with each militaryaction.Global in scope, with excellent coverage of American, Central American, European, Asian, and Middle Eastern battles, and with its stirring accounts of familiar battles and many lesser known military conflicts, 100 Decisive Battles is essential reading for military buffs and anyone interested in howthe modern world came to be.
Call Number: 904.7 DAV
Publication Date: 2001
An online tool on Timetoast where you can create a timeline to tell a story.