Ancient China - Year 7 - Literacy and Life - Library Homepage at Salesian College

Library Catalogue

China: The Story of the Nation and Its Relationship with Australia
This book covers the details of Australia's relationship with China, China's history, government, transport, communications, religion, arts and crafts, food, and the environment.
Chinese Religion: Mythic Themes An article from Encyclopedia of Religion. Volume 3, 2nd Ed. "Who was there to pass down the story of the beginning of things in the remote past? What means are there to examine what it was like before heaven above and earth below had taken shape?" (Hawkes, 1959, p. 46).
Imperial China: Six Centuries of All-Powerful Dynasties
This book tells the story of three powerful dynasties--Yuan, Ming and Qing--that ruled China from 1271 to 1911. The quality of their leadership varied enormously, from accomplished military commanders to child-emperors manipulated by the adults around them. In this book we see how this succession of emperors moulded China's character until the final collapse of the Imperial system in 1911.

Ancient Civilisation: China Ancient China is responsible for a rich culture, still evident in modern China.Learn more about the history and rich culture of Ancient China with this curated resource collection.
more...less...
A National Geographic Classroom Resources Collection.
China: Enduring Empire The laws and customs of the ancient world still shape the best and worst of China today.
more...less...
Published on Thursday 11 November 2010 in The Guardian. Article written by Frances Wood.
China Profile - Timeline by BBC News
A chronology of key events.

Ancient China - Free eBooks
Free eBook on Ancient China provided by Project Gutenberg. Available to read online or to download as an ePUB.

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Millions of articles from thousands of scholarly journals and other authoritative sources across a wide range of academic disciplines.Discover peer-reviewed articles to inspire research and validate your findings with Academic OneFile’s extensive collection of academic journals.
Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Global Issues ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots, while also summarizing background information, historical context, and contemporary stances.
Sources include full-text international magazines, academic journals, primary sources, statistics, (graphs, tables, charts) and websites, including government sites and organizations.
High School This link opens in a new window
High School Resource offers current and authoritative content to facilitate your needs of resources for your assignments.
Issues & Current Affairs - ECHO This link opens in a new window
ECHO offers extensive information content drawn from newspapers and the Internet. It selectively indexes three major Australian newspapers and provides a searchable index on-line.
World History This link opens in a new window
Well-rounded coverage of current thinking and scholarly work.